Encyclopedia SpongeBobia
Advertisement
Encyclopedia SpongeBobia

Wiki.png
User Rights Review Discussion Archive

The following user rights review discussion has been resolved. The page has been protected and now serves as an archive. Do not edit this page.
Date Resolved: October 9, 2014


Result: Discussion closed, pending final decision.


Introduction

This may come as a shock to many of you as it did for me. I don't want things like this to happen, but it is something we cannot ignore. It is also necessary that the defendant has a right to explain themselves and a right to a fair trial.

To sum this up, the act that has been committed has been confirmed by an IP address check by an ESB administrator, along with Wikia Staff, as well as an admission from the defendant in a private message.

Many of you know Auron~Guardian for the 2,500+ contributions here at ESB over the past three years. He has helped improve the quality of content on the wiki and has contributed a few ideas as to the wiki's growth.

On October 1, 2014, it was discovered that Auron~Guardian and Riku KH are one and the same. This creates a difficult situation that must be dealt with and the entire community must know what has happened.

Explanation of case

Actions taken

As a result of Auron's sockpuppetry the following actions have been taken:

  • 1. The account "Riku KH" has had all powers removed.
  • 2. The account "Riku KH" has been given an infinite block.
  • 3. Auron~Guardian has been demoted as a Rollback and chat moderator
  • 4. Auron~Guardian has been disqualified from UOTM for 6 months.

Further actions to be taken is dependent on the community discussion.

Summary of violations

  • 1. Abuse of multiple accounts (sock puppetry)
  • 2. Lying and deception in regards to the accounts at communities including ESB and SBG
  • 2a. Stated several times that Riku was a friend
  • 2b. Stated several times that the account "Riku KH" was not his (including at SBG)
  • 3. Voter fraud
  • 3a. Particpation on RfAs
  • 3b. UOTM nomination discussions
  • 3c. Nominated himself for UOTM using his sock puppet account
  • 3d. Community discussions
  • 4. Hesitant to admit to actions while waiting for confirmation from Wikia Staff

Specific policy violations

The following is a list of specific policy violations according to ESB policies:

  • 1. "Each user is only allowed one account, unless you have a good reason that can be approved by the administration. In that event, all users must identify themselves as the owner of the accounts on the user pages." (General I-1)
  • 2. The integrity of the Discussions section is compromised by voter fraud.
  • 3. The integrity of the Administration section is compromised by voter fraud.
  • 4. The integrity of the User of the Month section is compromised by voter fraud.

Conclusion

Please state what actions you believe should be taken further in the discussion below, including blocking (and length of block), suspension of powers (and length), suspension of making an administrator request, etc. Please look at the case above and state your opinion as to what should be done.

COPY and PASTE the following and place it under "Community discussion" below and make your comments.

===USERNAME===
{{DiscussionBoxBegin}}

'''Punishment: <list-punishment-here>'''

<put-comments-here>

{{DiscussionBoxEnd}}

Please sign your responses with ~~~~ This discussion will end on Thursday, October 9, 2014 at 12:30 a.m., eastern time. We will discuss the issues surrounding this on Wednesday evening and come up with a final decision. AMK152 (Wall • Contrib) 04:30, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

Discussion

Auron~Guardian's Opening Statement

From Thread:132699#2

Ok so I must appologize

I'm very sorry for what I have done. I promise I will never do it again.

I will not abuse multiple accounts. I ask that you please try to put this behind us. I really am a good person and ask that you please give me a second chance to show you. I realize that I have done a bad thing and hope that you can eventualy trust me again.

As for the account, I am going to ditch it. I promise that I will not do this ever again.

I would like to say that I will do my best to redeam myself by being a good contributer and hellping people where needed. I hope you can please give me another chance.

I ask that I not be blocked because i'd like to still be able to edit and contribute to the wiki. Please lets put this in the past and try to move forward.

I am a good person who only wants to help wikis, I never intended for any of this to happen. Please find it in your heart to forgive me. I really just want us to grow and thrivve. I truly want to have a second chance to show everyone I'm a good person. I love this wiki and it's community. I never intended to hurt anyone and I know what I have done is wrong. I'm not saying I shouldn't be punished just that I shouldn't be blocked because I made one little mistake. I truly want to continue to contribute. If there's anything I can do to show you I have learned my lesson and only want to be helpful please do tell me.

In conclusion, I truly appologize for the upset I have caused and promise I will never do it again. I ask that we not forget the incedent but learn from it as I have. I ask that we keep growing and thriving togeather as a comunity and try to move on from this. I will ditch the alt account and only use Auron~Guardian from now on. I hope eventualy to rebuild any lost trust and move towards a bright future and hope that with time and hard work the wiki can do the same.

I truly regret what I have done and only want to be a good person. I will not hold a grudge against the comunity and hope everyone can do the same.

I truly with all my heart regret what I have done. I only will be a good person from now on. Please lets try to look to the future. I only want to do what's good for everyone from now on. I don't want to be seen as a bad person and hope everyone will give me a chance to show what a good person I can be. You should know that I have done much good for the comunity and I want to continue to help it.

Believe me, I truly want the comunity to thrive and grow I hope everyone can see my good qualities and how they oputnumber what I have done. I admit I did a bad thing yes I made a mistake but I am only human. We are all but human aren't we?

We all make mistakes yes but what matters is not that we make mistakes but that we learn from them. I have leaned from my mistakes that deception only causes pain asnd missery not only for those around me, but for me as well. I never intended for any of this to happen. I feel very hurt by my actions and only ask that you give me one more chance to redeem my self. I am only human after all as are we all. I only want to move on from this and redeem myself in anyway I can. I really try to be good person and only want to help.

I ask that we try to move forward and hope with time we can once again trust each other.

Thank you for taking the time to read this lengthy apology and know that I truly mean every last word of it.


I would also like to as to at least be able to edit pages I truly want to help everybody and if I can't edit how can I prove myself? I just at least want to be able to edit wiki pages, even if I can't participate in discussions or the like. How else can I prove i've changed if I can not edit?

~ Auron

Community discussion

JosephHawk

Punishment: 1 month block, 18 month suspension from any promotion, 6 month disqualification from UOTM, and suspension from voting on any discussion for 3 months.

Auron has blantaly deceived the entire community, and deserves to be severely punished. I cannot convey how sad I am over this turn of events... A user who was trusted, and one for whom we had high expectations. I... I just feel so disappointed. :( Shyguy-emoticon.gifJoey (talk)

Reply to apology:

Auron, you had plenty of time man up and state what you were doing. You have only made this apology after you were caught, which is utterly amazing. I accept the apology, but that doesn't mean there won't be action taken against you because of your poor choices. I really wish this didn't have to happen... 😢

AMK152

Punishment: no block if since he has handles this discussion well, 18 12 9 month suspension from promotion, with a discussion every 6 3 months to consider lowering the punishment, along with keeping the 6 month disqualification from UOTM. Also, he can still continue to participate in community discussions. Additionally, a 3 month voting suspension.

Auron has great contributions and is a great member of the community, so I don't believe a block is necessary. However, there must be consequences, and I have proposed an 18 month suspension from any promotion, while having a discussion every 6 months to consider lowering such. The lying and deception cannot be tolerated, and this discussion itself is perhaps punishment as well. I am appalled by such events. We cannot shove things under the rug and the fact that Auron wanted this to be hidden shows that he is not trustworthy to be an administrator, or promoted for that matter. I really wish it wouldn't have come to this. I was just supporting his admin request less than 48 hours ago. AMK152 (Wall • Contrib) 04:42, October 2, 2014 (UTC)


Tominator777

Punishment: remove ALL rights he has anywhere on SpongeBobia, and 10 months-3 years 1 months block on ESB (cause of HOW LONG it was on ESB before now, on top of how many policies he violated at once), 2-9 month 2 weeks block on FSB, cause his Riku account was on FSB as well, might lower the punishment if he cooperates, might in increase it if he harasses others about it, 6 month ban from the UOTM and 18 month suspension from promotion

well, you did it, if i were to describe my feelings now, you aren't as bad as Road was back then, cause this is a simple sockpuppeting, but, Auron, what you did here, is pretty much showing that you DIDN'T keep your promises, face it Auron, you disappointed Andrew, you disappointed Joseph, you let ESB down, why did you think this was a good idea at all, you knew it was against rules, but you did it anyway, i might have sockpuppeted too, but the reasons i sockpuppeted in the past (the other times were not on ESB), was either i got hacked , or when i 1st joined ESB, 120d falsely blocked me for no reason, and 456 changed my block from I.P block to just that account block, and then i talked with 456 and Andrew about my false block on another account, and then Andrew unblocked me, but why did you do it, if you say why, maybe the community can forgive you, at this point, you are pretty hated by most users on ESB disappointed everybody on ESB, but i'll be willing to give you another chance when you are ready, but for now, you'll have to suffer the consequences for your actions, when your block ends, and you want to climb back up to the top, let me know, and you might be able to redeem yourself. --Tominator777 (talk) 05:35, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

A bit too strong I think. No one hates anyone. It's a matter of shock and disappointment. AMK152 (Wall • Contrib) 08:58, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

Yeah, I think "hate" might be an overstatement for what happened, and I know that not everyone would hate him, the reason I used it I'll explain later.--Tominator777 (talk) 13:15, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

ok, let me try to explain what should happen a lot better than before, Auron, it's good that you apologized, but i lowered the punishments cause Andrew and the others were complaining to me that they are too high, and also, i forgive you, but here's the thing, you started a spark, and that's not good Auron, i heard that it might have been a mistake, that you were right the whole time, also, let me give you a solution to your problem on ESB, just hold on until Andrew and the others make a decidetion, and we'll see what happens. --Tominator777 (talk) 20:55, October 4, 2014 (UTC)

ZeoSpark

Punishment: Removable of rights and unable to request for any other position until further notice.

Wow...so this is what happened last night after I left. I came back this morning to get some edits in until I saw this. Man, I never thought that Auron will have a sockpuppet account and for so long. I'm kinda sad that he even allowed the sockpuppet account to have rollback rights like that. Not to have Tom put words in my mouth but agreeing with AMK, I am just shocked to hear about this. It's not a sockpuppet account to evade a block but it is a sockpuppet account that creates deception and that is against the rules. A block isn't really necessary but there have to be consequences for these actions. I don't hate you personally Auron, just your actions. And I was going to vote you next for UOTM by the way... ZeoSpark  Talk  Contribs  Edits  11:28,10/2/2014 

Spongebob456

Punishment: 1 week block. Removable of rights and unable to request for any other position until further notice.

I don't really know what to say. I'm more disappointed that annoyed. I do feel as if you've lost a bit of trust from the community and you haven't set a good example - I'm sure you're aware of that. The thing I can't fathom is why you did that? You certainly went to great lengths to deceive - at least that's how it looks. Whatever happens, promotion is, I'm afraid to say, a very long way off. --Spongebob456 talk 14:34, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

Tanhamman

 Punishment: Strip rights. Unable to make request for all positions until further notice. Block for up to 1 week (No more). Suspend UOTM for 6 months. Wow. I'm not ticked. I'm not even angry. I'm sadened. I know that Auron was shooting for Admin, but to have this occur, has changed my views. I've lost faith in you, Auron, and I cannot trust you for a while, now. It does suck yes, and I'm sure you know that. Since this was a severe case that was going up against the wiki, and was doing some "extra" "work", that is a bit sad. I thought of 2 different people. Now, I think of none, as you have totally lost me. To even get reinstated as a Mod, or Rollback will take a LOOOONG time. Since you knew the rules, I was going to go for no block time, but you evaded them, so that is my opinion, and decision. All faith has died. Please help it restore after the new year comes. Tan Ham ManSpongebob dancing gif.gif 14:57,10/2/2014  

Mopar250

 1 week block. Not able to make a request for any position for 6 months. I can not accept your apology, you made a fool out of both ESB and SBG, I mean serisouly, you should've admitted it earlier, this also explains much, you lied to me when I asked if you were the same person as Riku, but ever since that happend, I had a feeling in the pit of my stumach you were the same people. Also i'm not happy that you had even promoted YOURSELF  on SBG, which I assume was to be sure your Riku KH account wouldn't get blocked there, and not go through so much to be an admin there, you need to think a lot through man, you should be ashamed of yourself for doing this. Mopar250 (talk) 20:27, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

JCM

Punishment: One week month block, cannot apply for admin for at least a year after that block, and cannot apply for chatmod or rollback for six months.

I didn't know Auron very well, but the fact that he used a sockpuppet to evade the UOTM rules and to vote for himself on an RfA nomination that would have succeeded, anyway, had this all not come out, makes it hard for me to sympathize with him over the beating he's had today. It'll take a while for his reputation to recover after all we learned, and I don't think he'll ever have as much respect from the community as he had before these revelations again. Is he a good user? I'm sure he is, but the evidence stacked against his is just too damning to do nothing over. ~JCM 21:13, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

EDIT: I recently learned that Auron used his sock not only to cheat on his requests, but to trash ESB on his behalf. This was more than just a cry for attention; he was using that sockpuppet maliciously, and he should get a punishment other than losing rights he had for a couple of months. ~JCM 22:54, October 9, 2014 (UTC)

Lumoshi

Punishment: No block, cannot request promotion or UOTM for 9 and 6 months respectively

He did confess what he did, and if he keeps up good behavior during the discussion, then I don't want him to be blocked. If he has to be blocked, more than a week isn't necessary to punish him. Lumoshi (talk)

TheCatThatTookMyFish

Punishment: SUSPENSION OF USER OF THE MONTH FOR 6 MONTHS, DEMOTION OF ALL RIGHTS FOR 10 MONTHS, BLOCK FOR 1 WEEK

I am extremely shocked at this. You have fully fooled this community auron. And I sincerely request a SUSPENSION OF USER OF THE MONTH FOR 6 MONTHS, DEMOTION OF ALL RIGHTS FOR 10 MONTHS, BLOCK FOR 1 WEEK. I have lost all of my respect for you. If you would like my respect back, deserve it. I am just really saddened now.lock seeing what happened with other people's statements). (+added 1 week b --TheCatThatTookMyFish (talk) 21:57, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

Random Pony

Punishment: 1 month block, 6 months suspension from UOTM, and suspension of rights for 1 year.

When I was opening my laptop. I heard a few words from JosephHawk and the others in Skype saying that Auron and Riku are the same person. I was quite shocked that stuff like this would happen especially since Auron said that he and Riku were different people in SBG. I actually trusted Auron and believed on everything thst he does but this has been taken too far so I would request to block him for a month and have a suspension of user of the month for 6 months and demotion of all rights for a year. Spongey Dude (talk) 21:57, October 2, 2014 (UTC)

Nicko756

Punishment: 3 day block, 6 months suspension from UOTM, suspension of rights until further notice, and voting suspension of 2 weeks.

Per above. I just don't know why you would do such a thing. Also, you repeatedly lied about how Riku are you are friends. When questioned (w:c:spongebobgalaxy:Thread:3881), you continued to lie. This is inexcusable behavior. However, due to his excellent contributions, I do not think a block longer than 3 days is needed.  Nicko756 (MCE) Sign!Dp.gif  04:28, October 3, 2014 (UTC) 

Spike the Dragon

Punishment: 1 week block, removal of all rights, and not able to apply for requesting any rights for a total of 1 month.'

Okay...so I leave the wiki for a short time, and I see this...? Seriously? Making another account, and for any of your votes you voted with on Riku's, that means duplicate voting, and making lies about some stuff, like neutral voting on if I should keep my mod status (I won't get into something like this) because you said you never seen me, and also mistaken me as a female (again I won't go into massive complaining about this).This also means you supported your own admin request.I don't think a massive block is needed, but please don't do this again, thanks.Spike the Dragon (talk) 18:01, October 3, 2014 (UTC)

AW10

Sanction: No blocking, removal of all right anywhere on SpongeBobia, disqualificaton from UOTM for 6 months and being prevented from applying to any position for 1 month.

I don't think that punishment is a good word, he haven't committed some crime as how I see it, he just wanted to get noticed and used wrong means for it.  AW10  Talk  Contribs  E-Mail  11:55,10/4/2014 

TrevorOntario719

Punishment: 1 month block(none if he takes this well), demotion for 9 months, UOTM ban for 7 months(one extra month for voting for himself with a sock), and no admin requests until 18 months. I'm shocked. I'm disappointed. I'm scarred for life. Tears are watering down my eyes and are falling on my laptop trackpad. I didn't know. My naive part of me fell for Riku. I found the both of you as 2 friends. But reality shows it's a rule-break for attention. I feel betrayed. Turned on. I feel like crying for hours and hours with no end. Especially with the fact I know what you think about socks. Not to mention how you lied to everyone and everything, and voted for yourself on things. I am ashamed. Very ashamed.

C.Syde65

Sanction: 1 month block (2 weeks if he takes this well), demotion for 3 months, UOTM ban for 5 months (one extra month for voting for himself with a sock), and no admin requests for 6 months. Well I haven't really been able to give this much thought, as I don't really contribute here much. But from what little I've heard, I'd have to agree that you've done a bad thing and that you need to learn from it. I'd have to agree with AW10 that punishment is not a good word. It's merely just a consequence. Now considering that I don't edit here much, and after reading the faults you recognized here, my opinion for what should be your consequence is probably fairer than what opinion I otherwise would have. -- C.Syde (talk | contribs) 22:00, October 4, 2014 (UTC)

CPPerapin

Punishment: 7 day block, strip rights, 77 day suspension from promotion, 14 day voting suspension.

He apologized and we're meant to be forgiving. Not much point in preventing someone devoted to editing here from editing for a long period of time. It is disappointing that Auron had voted for himself threatening the accuracy of the wiki and that he deceived us. This is frowned upon in the real world in most circumstances. Let this be a lesson.

Perapin (contact) 22:10, October 5, 2014 (UTC)

Daud2001

Punishment: 1 week block, remove all rights, 2 months suspension from becoming chat mod and rollback, 4 months suspension from becoming admin, 1 month voting suspension.

I feel annoyed when it turns out that you vote for yourself. I don't think blocking you is needed, because of your contribution. But you need a little punishment. Daud2001 08:20, October 8, 2014 (UTC)

Spongebob2567

 Punishment: No block, 'demotion of right for 2 months' , 1 month suspension from becoming chat mod and rollback, 2 months suspension from becoming admin, 2 month voting suspension.


I know Auron somewhat well. He's a good user. He helps me out with stuff on the wiki from time to time. Auron just wanted to be noticed for being a good user. UOTM just seems like popularity contest to most users and me. I don't think a Year long punishment is ever necessary. Yes, what he did was wrong. But a year?  - Spongebob2567 23:15, October 8, 2014 (UTC)  

SummerSpongefan20

Punishment: 1 month block, 6 month suspension from becoming rollback or chatmoderator, 12 month suspension from becoming administrator, 12 month voting/UOTM suspension.

The fact that he had over an hour to confess that he was Riku makes me want to extend the block to a lengthier time, but since he's already demoted from his powers, I think a month will suffice. ~summer 23:49, October 8, 2014 (UTC)

Advertisement